Five ICORDians win MSFHR Awards

Left: ICORD Investigator Dr. Heather Gainforth, Clockwise from top left: Dr. Catherine Jutzeler, Dr. Matthias Walter, Dr. Matthew Zeglinski, and Dr. Alexandra Williams.

This week, the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research announced the recipients of their Scholar and Research Trainee Awards. These grants go towards furthering the MSFHR’s mission to fund innovative and promising research in British Columbia. Many ICORDians have benefited from this support. This year, one Investigator and five postdocs from ICORD have won MSFHR Awards!

Dr. Heather Gainforth, an ICORD Investigator in the School of Health and Exercise Sciences at UBC Okanagan, received a Scholar award for her five-year knowledge translation project, Improving the implementation and impact of evidence-based health promotion interventions in real world settings, which will address the gap between health promotion research and health promotion practice in the spinal cord injury community. Dr. Gainforth oversees the Applied Behaviour Change Laboratory, where she and her team research the “promotion and maintenance of health behaviours, knowledge translation, special populations, and behaviour change theory.”

Four ICORD postdoctoral fellows also received Research Trainee Awards: Dr. Catherine Jutzeler from the Kramer Lab for Repurposing Acute Medications For Enhanced Recovery After Spinal Cord Injury; Dr. Matthias Walter from the Krassioukov Lab for Impact Of Treatment For Neurogenic Bladder Dysfunction On Autonomic Dysreflexia And Cerebral Blood Flow In SCI Individuals; Dr. Alexandra Williams from the West Lab for The Acute Impact Of Spinal Cord Injury On Cardiac Function, And Novel Hemodynamic Management In SCI Patients; and Dr. Matthew Zeglinski from the Granville Lab for The Maladaptive Effects Of Wood Smoke On Abdominal Aortic Aneurysms.

Congratulations to these ICORDians to for the well deserved recognition and funding!