ICORD researchers win Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Scholar Awards

We are pleased to announce that Drs. Chris West and John (Kip) Kramer both received Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Scholar Awards. The awards were announced today by MSFHR:

Dr. Chris West (left) and Dr. John Kramer (right)

Dr. Chris West (left) and Dr. John Kramer (right)

Thirty-two exceptional BC health researchers have been named recipients of Scholar awards through MSFHR’s 2014 Scholar Program funding competition.

The award recipients, selected from a highly competitive pool of more than 120 applicants, represent a bright future for health research in BC. Their innovative projects span a broad range of disciplines and will help to address important health challenges for the benefit of all British Columbians.

View the full list of 2014 Scholar award recipients

Three of this year’s Scholar awards will be jointly funded in partnership with BC-based not-for-profit organizations. MSFHR is pleased to partner with the BC Schizophrenia Society Foundation and the Rick Hansen Institute to support research directly relevant to these organizations’ mandates.

With a maximum term of five years, MSFHR Scholar Awards help British Columbia create and sustain a base of excellence that fosters world-class research across the health spectrum. MSFHR Scholar Awards enable recipients to: focus on research activities; train the next generation of investigators; attract additional funding from national and international sources; and generate high-quality knowledge economy jobs.

Since 2001, MSFHR has invested more than $117 million in funding more than 360 Scholar awards that directly support BC’s top health researchers.

Congratulations to Drs. West and Kramer!